WMD home
regulations
permits
grants/loans
publications
calendar
 
dec home > wmd home > people
Contacts  
Brownfields
Composting
Construction & Demolition
Hazardous Waste   Management
Household Hazardous   Waste
Product Stewardship & Take-Back Programs
Salvage Yard Program
Sites Management
Solid Waste
Spills
Underground Storage   Tanks
Universal Recycling
Waste Prevention

 

 

Waste Management and Prevention Division
Contacts

Waste Management & Prevention Division Switchboard: (802) 828-1138

Charles (Chuck) Schwer, Director
(802) 249-5324
chuck.schwer@state.vt.us
 
Wendy Anderson, Admin. Assistant
(802) 522-0202
wendy.anderson@state.vt.us
 
Jordan Gonda, Legal Counsel
(802) 338-7522
jordan.gonda@state.vt.us
 

Kristin Davis
(802) 522-0071
kristin.davis@state.vt.us

 
Cheryl Hamilton, Env. Technician
(802) 522-5949
cheryl.hamilton@state.vt.us
 

 


Hazardous Waste Management Program


Marc Roy, Section Chief
(802) 522-0275
marc.roy@state.vt.us
 

Linda Joyal

(802) 522-0261

linda.joyal@state.vt.us

Data administration, Manifests and Hazardous Waste Taxes
Vince Chiorgno
(802) 522-0245
vincent.chiorgno@state.vt.us
Manifests and Site ID forms
Steve Simoes
(802) 522-0386
steve.simoes@state.vt.us
Permitting, Rules & Regulatory Interpretation, Spill Program Member
Michael Nucci
(802) 522-0287
michael.nucci@state.vt.us
Program Inspector, Permitting, Spill Program Member

Cindy Grimes

(802) 522-0307

cindy.grimes@state.vt.us

Program Inspector, Permitting

 


Solid Waste Program

Cathy Jamieson,
Solid Waste Program Manager
(802) 522-5938
cathy.jamieson@state.vt.us

Oversees the Solid Waste Management Program, consisting of the following sections:  Certification, Compliance, and Materials Management.
Focus areas: Legislative, policy, and implementation strategies.

Josh Kelly,
Materials Management Section Chief
(802) 522-5897
josh.kelly@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: oversight of Universal Recycling law implementation, Vermont E-Cycles and other EPR programs.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), composting and anaerobic digestion, and unit based pricing (pay as you throw).

Danika Frisbie
(802) 522-3658
danika.frisbie@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: data management, website work, development and design of materials for Universal Recycling implementation.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), recycling, ReTrac, and data.

Karen Knaebel
(802) 522-5736
karen.knaebel@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include E-Cycles Program: oversight of the State Standard Program, working with contractor for collection and pick-up of discarded electronics. Mercury program: manufacturer requirements, EPR lamp and thermostat programs, and dental mercury.
Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, and mercury take-back programs.

Kimberli Lutchko
(802)522-5771
kimberli.lutchko@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: E-Cycles Program, oversight of manufacturer Opt-Out Program, manufacturer and service provider registrations, reporting, invoicing, product determinations, and database management.
Focus areas: E-Cycles Program.

Bryn Oakleaf
(802) 522-5783
bryn.oakleaf@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: development and implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan (MMP), research and report writing for policy and legislative analysis, grants and contracts project manager, Food Recovery Hierarchy - waste reduction and food rescue, general and sector specific education and outreach, and special projects.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), food waste reduction and food rescue, Materials Management Plan (MMP), and recycling.

Celia Riechel
(802) 477-2669
celia.riechel@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan, policy analysis, and special projects.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), business and institution outreach, organics diversion, technical assistance.

Mia Roethlein
(802) 522-5926
mia.roethlein@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, policy analysis, and special projects. Additional work addresses household hazardous waste, Solid Waste Implementation Plan (SWIP) review, and implementation of paint and battery stewardship programs.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), SWIPs, household hazardous waste management and state wide network meetings, paint and battery stewardship programs, and recycling.

Dennis Fekert,
Certification Section Chief
(802) 522-0195
dennis.fekert@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: oversight of permitting, technical, and design responsibilities.
Focus areas: facility certifications.

Debra Bordo
(802) 522-5974
debra.bordo@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Additional responsibilities include: engineering review and regulated medical waste.
Focus areas: Construction at solid waste facilities, medical waste (regulated).

Jeff Bourdeau
(802) 522-0131
jeff.bourdeau@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
Focus areas: Contaminated soils, debris, NEWS VT landfill in Coventry, and transfer station permits.

Ben Gauthier
(802) 522-5080
benjamin.gauthier@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
Focus areas: composting, food scraps, landfills, Solid Waste facilities permitting (HHW, compost and anaerobic digestion, compost technical assistance), and website updates.

Kasey Kathan
(802) 522-0561
kasey.kathan@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include hydrogeologic review, and closed landfills.
Focus areas: Closed landfill oversight, ReTrac questions, solid waste facilities permitting, water quality at solid waste facilities.

James (Buzz) Surwilo
(802) 522-5056
james.surwilo@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
Focus areas: Act 175 (architectural waste), Act 250 (collection, aggregation, & temporary storage of solid waste to be transferred to a certified transfer station), asbestos, asphalt shingles, Construction & Demolition (C&D) waste (i.e. drywall, asphalt shingles, clean wood, etc.), road base cover, and tires.

Barb Schwendtner,
Compliance Section Chief
(802) 249-5904
barb.schwendtner@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: assuring all facilities and general public comply with Solid Waste Management Rules, statutes, permits and certifications. Conducts inspections, prepares enforcement referrals, and receives and responds to complaints.  Reviews clean-up plans for illegal dumps.
Focus areas: Solid waste facility and hauler compliance and enforcement.

Aric Brown
(802) 461-5759
aric.brown@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include assisting in public compliance with solid waste management rules and statutes, field work, enforcement involvement, and responding to complaints.
Focus areas: Compliance with certifications of facilities and haulers; enforcing VT Solid Waste Management Rules

Cathy Stacy
(802) 522-5789
cathy.stacy@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include waste transportation permits, beverage container law issues, facility tracking and reporting, IWMEAs, and compliance.
Focus areas:   Waste transportation permitting program (hazardous, solid, and residuals); receive and process IWMEAs; beverage container law (redemption centers, product registrations, policy); solid waste facility tracking and reporting; and compliance.


Sites Management Section / Brownfields Response Program

Vacant Sites Program Manager
Tim Cropley
(802) 249-5346
tim.cropley@state.vt.us
Spill Program Manager, UST Inspector, Hazardous Sites Manager
Ashley Desmond
(802) 249-5307
ashley.desmond@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager, Spill Program Member

James Donaldson
(802) 477-2632
james.donaldson@state.vt.us

Hazardous Site Manager
Linda Elliott
(802) 249-5479
linda.elliott@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Hugo Martinez Cazón
(802) 522-5564
hugo.martinez.cazon@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Matt Moran
(802) 522-5729
matt.moran@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager, Spill Program Member
Gerold Noyes
(802) 522-5614
gerold.noyes@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Lynda Provencher
(802) 249-5562
lynda.provencher@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
John Schmeltzer
(802) 249-5620
john.schmeltzer@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Michael Smith
(802) 249-5826
michael.b.smith@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Richard Spiese
(802) 249-5083
richard.spiese@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager, Spill Program Member
Tami Wuestenberg
(802) 249-5186
tami.wuestenberg@state.vt.us

Hazardous Site Manager

Brownfields Program
Patricia Coppolino
(802) 249-5822
patricia.coppolino@state.vt.us
Brownfields Program Manager
Sarah Bartlett
(802)-249-5641
sarah.a.bartlett@state.vt.us
Site Manager
Matthew Becker
(802) 249-5770
matthew.becker@state.vt.us
Site Manager

Kristi Herzer
(802) 461-6918
kristi.herzer@state.vt.us

Site Manager

Lynda Provencher
(802) 249-5562
lynda.provencher@state.vt.us
Site Manager

Michael Smith
(802) 249-5826
michael.b.smith@state.vt.us

Site Manager

 


Technical Services / Underground Storage Tanks/ Salvage Yards

Marc Roy, Section Chief
(802) 522-0275
marc.roy@state.vt.us
 
Shawn Donovan
(802) 522-5683
shawn.donovan@state.vt.us
Salvage Yard Program Coordinator. Responsibilities include inspections of permitted facilities, permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects
Maria Stadlmayer
(802) 522-0239
maria.stadlmayer@state.vt.us
Residential Above Ground Storage Tank Replacement Grant Program Administrator, Hazardous Waste Generator Biennial Reporting, Spill Program Member
Ted Unkles, Supervisor
(802) 522-0488
ted.unkles@state.vt.us
Program Coordinator, Inspections, Compliance Issue, UST Regulations, Operator Training, Liaison with EPA, Spill Program Member
Jaymi Cleland
(802) 917-1386
jaymi.cleland@state.vt.us
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Compliance, Closure, Install,  and Hazardous Material Spill Reporting, Spill Program Member
June Reilly
(802) 522-0231
june.reilly@state.vt.us
Permitting, Financial Responsibility, UST Loans (not grants), Operator Training, Monitoring Compliance, Heating Oil Tank Registration, Change of Ownership
Sue Thayer
(802) 522-0487
susan.thayer@state.vt.us

Underground Storage Tank(UST) compliance inspection at permitted facilities, UST removal report review, Residential UST Home Heating Oil Grants

If you still are unable to locate the person you are looking for try the searchable State directory: http://phonebook.vermont.gov/

 

 

 

VT DEC Waste Management & Prevention Division 1 National Life Drive - Davis 1  Montpelier, VT  05620-3704  Tele: 802-828-1138   Fax: 802-828-1011

 

State of Vermont Agencies & Depts.     Access Government 24/7     About Vermont.Gov     Privacy Policy

A Vermont Government Website Copyright 2003 State of Vermont - All rights reserved