WMD home
regulations
permits
grants/loans
publications
calendar
 
dec home > wmd home > people
Contacts  
Brownfields
Business Waste   Reduction
Composting
Construction Waste   Reduction
Hazardous Waste   Management
Household Hazardous   Waste
Mercury Information
Reduce, Reuse, Recycle
Sites Management
Solid Waste
Spills
Underground Storage   Tanks

 

 

Waste Management and Prevention Division
Contacts

Waste Management & Prevention Division Switchboard: (802) 828-1138

George Desch, Director
(802) 760-8041
george.desch@state.vt.us
 
Wendy Anderson, Admin. Assistant
(802) 522-0202
wendy.anderson@state.vt.us
 
Jordan Gonda, Legal Counsel
(802) 338-7522
jordan.gonda@state.vt.us
 

Kristin Davis
(802) 522-0071
kristin.davis@state.vt.us

 
Cheryl Hamilton
(802) 522-5949
cheryl.hamilton@state.vt.us
Solid Waste Grants

 


Hazardous Waste Management Program


Lynn Metcalf, Program Chief
(802) 522-0469
lynn.metcalf@state.vt.us
Permitting, financial assurance, data management
Vince Chiorgno
(802) 522-0245
vincent.chiorgno@state.vt.us
Manifests and Site ID forms
Linda Joyal
(802) 522-0261
linda.joyal@state.vt.us
Manifests, data management, transporter permitting
Michael Nucci
(802) 522-0287
michael.nucci@state.vt.us
Program Inspector, Spill Program Member

Cindy Grimes

(802) 522-0307

cindy.grimes@state.vt.us

Program Inspector
Steve Simoes
(802) 522-0386
steve.simoes@state.vt.us

Permitting, Rules & Regulatory Interpretation, Spill Program Member

 


Solid Waste

Cathy Jamieson, Program Manager
(802) 522-5938
cathy.jamieson@state.vt.us
Oversees the Solid Waste Management Program which consists of the following sections:  Certification and Compliance; Planning; and Vermont E-cycles.
Dennis Fekert, Section Chief
(802) 522-0195
dennis.fekert@state.vt.us

Supervises staff of the Certification and Compliance Section of the Solid Waste Management Program consisting of permitting, technical, and compliance responsibilities.

Debra Bordo
(802) 522-5974
debra.bordo@state.vt.us

Certification and Compliance Section staff person. Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include engineering review and regulated medical waste.
Jeff Bourdeau
(802) 522-0131
jeff.bourdeau@state.vt.us

Certification and Compliance Section staff person.  Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.

Danika Frisbie
(802) 522-3658
danika.frisbie@state.vt.us

Planning & Implementation Section staff person. Responsibilities include development of web and print-based materials to assist with Universal Recycling Law plan and implementation. Additional responsibilities include data management, general research, and organics mapping.
Ben Gauthier
(802) 522-5080
benjamin.gauthier@state.vt.us

Certification and Compliance Section staff person.  Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.

Kasey Kathan
(802) 522-0561
kasey.kathan@state.vt.us
Certification and Compliance Section staff person. Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include hydrogeologic review and closed landfills.
Josh Kelly
(802) 522-5897
josh.kelly@state.vt.us
Planning & Implementation Section staff person. Responsibilities include facilitating the Vermont Organics Partnership, and providing technical assistance to organics collection programs.
Karen Knaebel
(802) 522-5736
karen.knaebel@state.vt.us

Vermont E-cycles Section staff person.  Responsibilities include start-up of new e-cycles program, works with contractor for collection and pick-up of discarded electronics.

Kimberli Lutchko
(802)522-5771
kimberli.lutchko@state.vt.us
Vermont E-cycles Section staff person.  Responsibilities include start-up of new e-cycles program, registration of electronics manufacturers.
Bryn Oakleaf
(802) 522-5783
bryn.oakleaf@state.vt.us

Planning & Policy Section staff person.  Responsibilities include development and implementation of state materials management plan, research for various solid waste issues and policy analysis, and special projects.

Mia Roethlein
(802) 522-5926
mia.roethlein@state.vt.us
Planning & Implementation Section staff person. Responsibilities include development and implementation of state materials management plan, research for various solid waste issues and policy analysis, and special projects. Focus on household hazardous waste, SWIP review, and implementing paint legislation.
Barb Schwendtner
(802) 249-5904
barb.schwendtner@state.vt.us

Certification and Compliance Section staff person.  Responsibilities include assuring all facilities and general public comply with solid waste management rules and statutes, field work, enforcement involvement, receives and responds to complaints.

Cathy Stacy
(802) 522-5789
cathy.stacy@state.vt.us

Certification and Compliance Section staff person.  Responsibilities include waste transportation permits, beverage container law issues, facility tracking, IWMEAs, and special projects.

Jim (Buzz) Surwilo
(802) 522-5056
james.surwilo@state.vt.us

Certification and Compliance Section staff person.  Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.

Chloe Viner

(802) 522-3503

chloe.viner@state.vt.us

Planning & Implementation Section staff person. Responsibilities include project development and program implementation related to the Universal Recycling Law. Assists with research related to existing projects of interest in Vermont and around the nation.


Sites Management Section / Brownfields Response Program

Chuck Schwer
(802) 249-5324
chuck.schwer@state.vt.us
Section Chief
Tim Cropley
(802) 249-5346
tim.cropley@state.vt.us
Spills Program Manager, UST Inspector, Hazardous Sites Manager
Ashley Desmond
(802) 249-5307
ashley.desmond@state.vt.us
Site Manager, Spill Program Member
Linda Elliott
(802) 249-5479
linda.elliott@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Alex Geller
(802) 249-5601
alex.geller@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager, Database Developer
Hugo Martinez Cazon
(802) 522-5564
hugo.martinezcazon@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Matt Moran
(802) 522-5729
matt.moran@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager, Spill Program Member
Gerold Noyes
(802) 522-5614
gerold.noyes@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Lynda Provencher
(802) 249-5562
lynda.provencher@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
John Schmeltzer
(802) 249-5620
john.schmeltzer@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Michael Smith
(802) 249-5826
michael.b.smith@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Richard Spiese
(802) 249-5083
richard.spiese@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager, Spill Program Member
Tami Wuestenberg
(802) 249-5186
tami.wuestenberg@state.vt.us
Hazardous Site Manager
Brownfields Program
Patricia Coppolino
(802) 249-5822
patricia.coppolino@state.vt.us
Program Chief
Sarah Bartlett
(802)-249-5641
sarah.a.bartlett@state.vt.us
Site Manager
Matthew Becker
(802) 249-5770
matthew.becker@state.vt.us
Site Manager

 


Technical Services / Underground Storage Tanks/ Salvage Yards

Marc Roy, Section Chief
(802) 522-0275
marc.roy@state.vt.us
 
Shawn Donovan
(802) 522-5683
shawn.donovan@state.vt.us
Salvage Yards
Maria Stadlmayer
(802) 522-0239
maria.stadlmayer@state.vt.us
Residential Above Ground Storage Tank Replacement Grant Program Administrator, Hazardous Waste Generator Biennial Reporting, Spill Program Member
Ted Unkles, Supervisor
(802) 522-0488
ted.unkles@state.vt.us
Program Coordinator, Inspections, Compliance Issue, UST Regulations, Operator Training, Liaison with EPA, Spill Program Member
Jaymi Cleland
(802) 917-1386
jaymi.cleland@state.vt.us
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Compliance, Closure, Install,  and Hazardous Material Spill Reporting, Spill Program Member
June Reilly
(802) 522-0231
june.reilly@state.vt.us
Permitting, Financial Responsibility, UST Loans (not grants), Operator Training, Monitoring Compliance, Heating Oil Tank Registration, Change of Ownership
Sue Thayer
(802) 522-0487
susan.thayer@state.vt.us

Underground Storage Tank(UST) compliance inspection at permitted facilities, UST removal report review, Residential UST Home Heating Oil Grants

If you still are unable to locate the person you are looking for try the searchable State directory: http://phonebook.vermont.gov/

 

Updated January 2014

 

VT DEC Waste Management & Prevention Division 1 National Life Drive - Davis 1  Montpelier, VT  05620-3704  Tele: 802-828-1138   Fax: 802-828-1011

 

State of Vermont Agencies & Depts.     Access Government 24/7     About Vermont.Gov     Privacy Policy

A Vermont Government Website Copyright 2003 State of Vermont - All rights reserved