WMD home
regulations
permits
grants/loans
publications
calendar
 
dec home > wmd home > people
Contacts  
Brownfields
Composting
Construction & Demolition
Hazardous Waste   Management
Household Hazardous   Waste
Product Stewardship & Take-Back Programs
Salvage Yard Program
Sites Management
Solid Waste
Spills
Underground Storage   Tanks
Universal Recycling
Waste Prevention

 

 

Waste Management and Prevention Division
Contacts

Waste Management & Prevention Division Switchboard: (802) 828-1138

Charles (Chuck) Schwer, Director
(802) 249-5324
chuck.schwer@vermont.gov
 
Wendy Anderson, Admin. Assistant
(802) 522-0202
wendy.anderson@vermont.gov
 
Jordan Gonda, Legal Counsel
(802) 338-7522
jordan.gonda@vermont.gov
 

Kristin Davis
(802) 522-0071
kristin.davis@vermont.gov

 
Cheryl Hamilton, Env. Technician
(802) 522-5949
cheryl.hamilton@vermont.gov
 

 


Hazardous Waste Management Program


Marc Roy, Section Chief
(802) 522-0275
marc.roy@vermont.gov
 

Linda Joyal

(802) 522-0261

linda.joyal@vermont.gov

Data administration, Manifests and Hazardous Waste Taxes
Vince Chiorgno
(802) 522-0245
vincent.chiorgno@vermont.gov
Manifests and Site ID forms
Steve Simoes
(802) 522-0386
steve.simoes@vermont.gov
Permitting, Rules & Regulatory Interpretation, Spill Program Member
Michael Nucci
(802) 522-0287
michael.nucci@vermont.gov
Program Inspector, Permitting, Spill Program Member

Cindy Grimes

(802) 522-0307

cindy.grimes@vermont.gov

Program Inspector, Permitting

Anna Bourakovsky

(802) 477-2981

Anna.Bourakovsky@vermont.gov

Program Inspector

 


Solid Waste Program

Cathy Jamieson,
Solid Waste Program Manager
(802) 522-5938
cathy.jamieson@vermont.gov

Oversees the Solid Waste Management Program, consisting of the following sections:  Certification, Compliance, and Materials Management.
Focus areas: Legislative, policy, and implementation strategies.

Josh Kelly,
Materials Management Section Chief
(802) 522-5897
josh.kelly@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: oversight of Universal Recycling law implementation, Vermont E-Cycles and other EPR programs.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), composting and anaerobic digestion, and unit based pricing (pay as you throw).

Danika Frisbie
(802) 522-3658
danika.frisbie@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: data management, website work, development and design of materials for Universal Recycling implementation.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), recycling, ReTrac, and data.

Karen Knaebel
(802) 522-5736
karen.knaebel@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include E-Cycles Program: oversight of the State Standard Program, working with contractor for collection and pick-up of discarded electronics. Mercury program: manufacturer requirements, EPR lamp and thermostat programs, and dental mercury.
Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, and mercury take-back programs.

Kimberli Lutchko
(802)522-5771
kimberli.lutchko@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: E-Cycles Program, oversight of manufacturer Opt-Out Program, manufacturer and service provider registrations, reporting, invoicing, product determinations, and database management.
Focus areas: E-Cycles Program.

Bryn Oakleaf
(802) 522-5783
bryn.oakleaf@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: development and implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan (MMP), research and report writing for policy and legislative analysis, grants and contracts project manager, Food Recovery Hierarchy - waste reduction and food rescue, general and sector specific education and outreach, and special projects.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), food waste reduction and food rescue, Materials Management Plan (MMP), and recycling.

Celia Riechel
(802) 477-2669
celia.riechel@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan, policy analysis, and special projects.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), business and institution outreach, organics diversion, technical assistance.

Mia Roethlein
(802) 522-5926
mia.roethlein@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, policy analysis, and special projects. Additional work addresses household hazardous waste, Solid Waste Implementation Plan (SWIP) review, and implementation of paint and battery stewardship programs.
Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), SWIPs, household hazardous waste management and state wide network meetings, paint and battery stewardship programs, and recycling.

Dennis Fekert,
Certification Section Chief
(802) 522-0195
dennis.fekert@state.vt.us

Responsibilities include: oversight of permitting, technical, and design responsibilities.
Focus areas: facility certifications.

Debra Bordo
(802) 522-5974
debra.bordo@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Additional responsibilities include: engineering review and regulated medical waste.
Focus areas: Construction at solid waste facilities, medical waste (regulated).

Jeff Bourdeau
(802) 522-0131
jeff.bourdeau@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
Focus areas: Contaminated soils, debris, NEWS VT landfill in Coventry, and transfer station permits.

Ben Gauthier
(802) 522-5080
benjamin.gauthier@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
Focus areas: composting, food scraps, landfills, Solid Waste facilities permitting (HHW, compost and anaerobic digestion, compost technical assistance), and website updates.

Kasey Kathan
(802) 522-0561
kasey.kathan@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include hydrogeologic review, and closed landfills.
Focus areas: Closed landfill oversight, ReTrac questions, solid waste facilities permitting, water quality at solid waste facilities.

James (Buzz) Surwilo
(802) 522-5056
james.surwilo@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
Focus areas: Act 175 (architectural waste), Act 250 (collection, aggregation, & temporary storage of solid waste to be transferred to a certified transfer station), asbestos, asphalt shingles, Construction & Demolition (C&D) waste (i.e. drywall, asphalt shingles, clean wood, etc.), road base cover, and tires.

Barb Schwendtner,
Compliance Section Chief
(802) 249-5904
barb.schwendtner@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include: assuring all facilities and general public comply with Solid Waste Management Rules, statutes, permits and certifications. Conducts inspections, prepares enforcement referrals, and receives and responds to complaints.  Reviews clean-up plans for illegal dumps.
Focus areas: Solid waste facility and hauler compliance and enforcement.

Aric Brown
(802) 461-5759
aric.brown@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include assisting in public compliance with solid waste management rules and statutes, field work, enforcement involvement, and responding to complaints.
Focus areas: Compliance with certifications of facilities and haulers; enforcing VT Solid Waste Management Rules

Cathy Stacy
(802) 522-5789
cathy.stacy@vermont.gov

Responsibilities include waste transportation permits, beverage container law issues, facility tracking and reporting, IWMEAs, and compliance.
Focus areas:   Waste transportation permitting program (hazardous, solid, and residuals); receive and process IWMEAs; beverage container law (redemption centers, product registrations, policy); solid waste facility tracking and reporting; and compliance.


Sites Management Section / Brownfields Response Program

Matt Moran
(802) 522-5729
matt.moran@vermont.gov
Sites Program Manager
Tim Cropley
(802) 249-5346
tim.cropley@vermont.gov
Spill Program Manager, UST Inspector, Hazardous Sites Manager

James Donaldson
(802) 477-2632
james.donaldson@vermont.gov

Hazardous Site Manager
Linda Elliott
(802) 249-5479
linda.elliott@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager
Hugo Martinez Cazón
(802) 522-5564
hugo.martinez.cazon@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager
Gerold Noyes
(802) 522-5614
gerold.noyes@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager
Lynda Provencher
(802) 249-5562
lynda.provencher@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager
John Schmeltzer
(802) 249-5620
john.schmeltzer@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager
Michael Smith
(802) 249-5826
michael.b.smith@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager
Richard Spiese
(802) 249-5083
richard.spiese@vermont.gov
Hazardous Site Manager, Spill Program Member
Tami Wuestenberg
(802) 249-5186
tami.wuestenberg@vermont.gov

Hazardous Site Manager

Brownfields Program
Patricia Coppolino
(802) 249-5822
patricia.coppolino@vermont.gov
Brownfields Program Manager
Sarah Bartlett
(802)-249-5641
sarah.a.bartlett@vermont.gov
Site Manager
Matthew Becker
(802) 249-5770
matthew.becker@vermont.gov
Site Manager

Kristi Herzer
(802) 461-6918
kristi.herzer@vermont.gov

Site Manager

Lynda Provencher
(802) 249-5562
lynda.provencher@vermont.gov
Site Manager

Michael Smith
(802) 249-5826
michael.b.smith@vermont.gov

Site Manager

 


Technical Services / Underground Storage Tanks/ Salvage Yards

Marc Roy, Section Chief
(802) 522-0275
marc.roy@vermont.gov
 
Shawn Donovan
(802) 522-5683
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov
Salvage Yard Program Coordinator. Responsibilities include inspections of permitted facilities, permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects
Maria Stadlmayer
(802) 522-0239
maria.stadlmayer@vermont.gov
Residential Above Ground Storage Tank Replacement Grant Program Administrator, Hazardous Waste Generator Biennial Reporting, Spill Program Member
Ted Unkles, Supervisor
(802) 522-0488
ted.unkles@vermont.gov
Program Coordinator, Inspections, Compliance Issue, UST Regulations, Operator Training, Liaison with EPA, Spill Program Member
Jaymi Cleland
(802) 917-1386
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Compliance, Closure, Install,  and Hazardous Material Spill Reporting, Spill Program Member
June Reilly
(802) 522-0231
june.reilly@vermont.gov
Permitting, Financial Responsibility, UST Loans (not grants), Operator Training, Monitoring Compliance, Heating Oil Tank Registration, Change of Ownership
Sue Thayer
(802) 522-0487
susan.thayer@vermont.gov

Underground Storage Tank(UST) compliance inspection at permitted facilities, UST removal report review, Residential UST Home Heating Oil Grants

If you still are unable to locate the person you are looking for try the searchable State directory: http://phonebook.vermont.gov/

 

 

 

VT DEC Waste Management & Prevention Division 1 National Life Drive - Davis 1  Montpelier, VT  05620-3704  Tele: 802-828-1138   Fax: 802-828-1011

 

State of Vermont Agencies & Depts.     Access Government 24/7     About Vermont.Gov     Privacy Policy

A Vermont Government Website Copyright 2003 State of Vermont - All rights reserved