WMD home
regulations
permits
grants/loans
publications
calendar
 
dec home > wmd home > RCRA home > FAQs > generator fee FAQ
Hazardous Waste   Management
    Education & Outreach
    EPA ID# Information & Notification
    Facility Permitting
    FAQs
    Manifests & Taxes
    Forms & Publications
    Regulations, Statutes & Procedures
    Waste Transporter   Permitting
Brownfields
Composting
Construction & Demolition
Household Hazardous   Waste
Product Stewardship & Take-Back Programs
Salvage Yard Program
Sites Management
Solid Waste
Spills
Underground Storage   Tanks
Universal Recycling
Waste Prevention

Hazardous Waste Management Program

Hazardous Waste Generator Registration Fee FAQs

 

 

What is the annual generator fee?
Are these new fees?

What am I getting for this fee?
Whe
n is payment due?

What is the fee amount?

What is the difference between a LQG, SQG and CEG?

What if my company name and/or mailing address, generator status, or contact name and number are wrong?

Will I get a receipt for payment of the fee?
Which year is the fee for?
Where can I get more information or help filling out the form?

Where can I get more information about handling hazardous waste?

What is the annual generator fee?

The Hazardous Waste Generator Registration Fee is an annual fee and registration requirement for all generators of hazardous waste.

 

Are these new fees?

Yes and No, as of 2013, the fee is new to Conditionally Exempt Generators (CEGs).

The first fees were assessed in 2002 and were for Large and Small Quantity Generators. In its 2001 session the Vermont General Assembly passed an annual registration fee bill for Large and Small Quantity Generators of Hazardous Waste. Act 15, 10 VSA Section 6608(f): All generators of regulated hazardous waste, except conditionally exempt generators, shall register with the secretary, renew the registration annually, and pay the fee specified in section 2822 of Title 3.

In 2012, the annual registration fee bill was modified. As a result, all generators of Hazardous Waste are now required to register and renew annually. The current Hazardous Waste Generator Registration Fees are $600 for Large Quantity Generators (LQGs) and $125 for Small Quantity Generators (SQGs) and $75 for Conditionally Exempt Generators (CEGs).

 

What am I getting for this fee?

  • You are supporting the State of Vermont Hazardous Waste Program which works to ensure that hazardous wastes are managed properly by hazardous waste generators to prevent them from endangering human health and the environment.
  • You are supporting outreach and assistance to all businesses and municipalities in Vermont that handle hazardous waste to help them generate less hazardous waste and manage the waste that they generate appropriately.
  • Compliance assistance either over the phone or in person. Call us with questions concerning how to comply with the regulations, how to generate less hazardous waste or how to use less hazardous chemicals –
  • Fact sheets and compliance guide books – all accessible through our website or just ask and we’ll send them to you
  • You are supporting inspections of Vermont based hazardous waste generators to determine if they are handling their hazardous waste appropriately, thus ensuring that there is a level playing field for those businesses that invest in good hazardous waste management practices.
  • You are supporting investigations of illegal dumping and other mismanagement of hazardous waste that threatens our environment in the State of Vermont.
  • You are supporting clean-ups of abandoned hazardous waste in the State of Vermont and the prosecution of those responsible.

 

When is payment due?

Payment is due April 30th of each year.

 

What is the fee amount?

The annual registration fee for a Large Quantity Generator (LQG) is $600

The annual registration fee for a Small Quantity Generator (SQG) is $125

The annual registration fee for a Conditionally Exempt Generator (CEG) is $75

 

What is the difference between a LQG, SQG and CEG?

State and Federal hazardous waste regulations classify and regulate hazardous waste generators differently according to the amount of hazardous waste they produce or generate each month or have in storage on-site. To assist you in determining your generator status you may go to the link below:

http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/wastediv/rcra/GenStatFAQ.htm

Subchapter 3 of the Vermont Hazardous Waste Management Regulations lists the criteria and regulatory requirements for each category of hazardous waste generator. The regulations can be found here:

http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/wastediv/rcra/regs.htm

 

What if my company name and/or mailing address, generator status, or contact name and number are wrong?

You can change the information by completing the Vermont Hazardous Waste Handler Site ID form found here:

http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/wastediv/rcra/pubs/VTNotif2002form.pdf

 

Will I get a receipt for payment of the fee?

Due to mailing costs, we will not be mailing receipts. If your cancelled check is not a sufficient receipt, you can write a request for a receipt on the portion of the bill that you send back to us. Please include your email address.

 

Which year is the fee for?
The Hazardous Waste Generator Registration Fee is for ongoing hazardous waste generation, so the Registration Fee Assessment Form is based on your ongoing generation rate for the year billed.

 

Where can I get more information or help filling out the form?

You can call the Waste Management & Prevention Division at 802-828-1138 and ask for a member of the Hazardous Waste Program staff or you can call us directly:

Lynn Metcalf – 802-522-0469

Linda Joyal – 802-522-0261

 

Where can I get more information about handling hazardous waste?

Start with our Education and Outreach Page (make clickable).

 

Updated March 2013

 

 

 

 

VT DEC Waste Management & Prevention Division 1 National Life Drive - Davis 1  Montpelier, VT  05620-3704  Tele: 802-828-1138  Fax: 802-828-1011

State of Vermont Agencies & Depts.     Access Government 24/7     About Vermont.Gov     Privacy Policy    Ask a State Librarian a ?

A Vermont Government Website Copyright 2003 State of Vermont - All rights reserved