Who is subject to TSDF Permitting?
A TSDF permit is required of persons who: (1) treat, store,
or dispose of hazardous wastes received from an off-site location,
(2) treat, dispose of their own hazardous waste on-site, or
(3) store their own hazardous waste on-site for longer than
180 days for Small Quantity Generators, or 90 days for Large
A TSDF permit is issued for a maximum term
of ten years.
Certificate of Need. A Certificate
of Need is required of any person proposing to begin site
preparation for, or construction of, a hazardous waste treatment
or disposal facility in Vermont. The requirements for a Certificate
of Need are found in Section 7-504(b) of the Vermont Hazardous
Waste Management Regulations and 10 V.S.A. 6606a. The fee
for a certificate of need is $7,500.00.
Waste Management Personnel Background Review. Before
a TSDF permit may be issued, the applicant must successfully
complete a background review as required by 10 V.S.A. 6605f.
Using the following forms, personal and business disclosure
statements must be filed that disclose the existence of certain
criminal convictions and civil or administrative violations
related to solid or hazardous waste management: Record
Check Release Form, Personal
History Disclosure, and Business
TSDF Application Process
The first step in applying for any state-issued environmental permit is to
contact the Permit Specialist for your region. The Permit Specialist Locator along with other important information regarding permit assistance can be found on the Environmental Assistance Office Permit Assistance webpage.
A complete application for a TSDF permit
must include all relevant information required by 40
CFR §§ 270.13 (Part A) and 270.14 (Part B).
Since there is no application form, the required information
should be compiled and submitted in an organized format. Checklists are used by Vermont
hazardous waste program staff to evaluate each TSDF permit
application may be used by the applicant to ensure that an
application submittal is complete.
A fee of $5,775.00 is required with the submittal of an initial
TSDF permit application. No fee is assessed for TSDF permit
renewal applications, but there is an annual operating fee
of $2,000 per year for commercial facilities, and $1,100 per
year for captive facilities. This annual operating fee applies
to all TSDFs with permits issued or renewed after July 1,
TSDF Permit Modification
Modifications are classified according to Section 7-507 of the VHWMR and 40 CFR 270.42. The request to modify the permit must be accompanied by the permit modification fee listed below.
TSDF Permit Modification Fees
Class 1 and Class 1* Modifications: $75
Class 2 Modifications: $500
Class 3 Modifications: $750